University of South Alabama

JagWorks@USA

Minutes 2012-2013

Faculty Senate Minutes

4-1-2012

Faculty Senate Meeting Minutes - April 2012

Faculty Senators
University of South Alabama

Follow this and additional works at: https://jagworks.southalabama.edu/minutes_twentytwelve

Recommended Citation

Senators, Faculty, "Faculty Senate Meeting Minutes – April 2012" (2012). *Minutes 2012-2013*. 1. https://jagworks.southalabama.edu/minutes_twentytwelve/1

This Article is brought to you for free and open access by the Faculty Senate Minutes at JagWorks@USA. It has been accepted for inclusion in Minutes 2012-2013 by an authorized administrator of JagWorks@USA. For more information, please contact jherrmann@southalabama.edu.

April 18, 2012 - Faculty Club - 3:00 pm MINUTES

Call to order: 3:05 pm

<u>Present:</u> Estis, Gordon-Hickey, Smith, T., Kennedy, E., Carr, Toelkyn, Dardeau, Fisher Gusy, Haywick, Mishra, Faile, Marin, Marshall, Moore, Connors, Roddy, Shaw, Benko, Feinstein, Landry, Bru, Daughtry, Byrd, Davidson-Shivers, Norrell, Stefurak, El-Sharkh, West, Britton, Tate, Nero, Burnham, Rachek, Ruchko, Alexeyev, Woodford, Turnipseed, Hunsader, Fuller, Keasler, Buckner, Minchew, Quiett

Excused absence: Spector, Johnson, M., Pickett, Sylvester, Falkos, Walls, Jackson, Martin

Unexcused absence: Langan, Green, Grishko, Gupte, Rusyniak

Approval of minutes: March 2012 approved with no edits.

Approval of agenda: Approved

Guests: Dr. Joseph Busta

• Discussion was held regarding the Annual Fund and how it ties into the University's 50th Anniversary celebrations and events.

President's Report – Tom Meyer delivered a "State of the Senate" report rather than "State of the University" report. Phil Carr will implement the "State of the University" reporting process with the 2012-2013 Senate. (See attached document).

New Business

- Amendment to bylaws to include description of Evaluation Committee Rules were temporarily suspended to allow the discussion of the item and the vote at the same meeting. A motion was made to approve addition of committee description, second by Kelly Woodford. Motion passed.
- Elections being no further nominations from the Senate floor a motion was made by G. Dardeau that the Senate approve the proposed slate of officers from the Executive Committee. Second provided by Vicki Tate. Motion approved and slate established.
 - o President Phil Carr
 - o Vice President Doug Marshall
 - o Secretary Julie Estis
 - o Past President Tom Meyer
 - o Academic Development/Mentoring Thomas Shaw
 - o Environmental Quality Doug Haywick
 - o Evaluation Laura Moore
 - o Planning & Development Leigh Minchew
 - o Salary & Benefits David Turnipseed
 - o Technology Utilization Kelly Woodford

2011-2012 Year End Committee Reports (See Attached)

- Academic Development and Mentoring (Thomas Shaw)
- Environmental Quality (Doug Marshall)
- Evaluation (Patsy Turnipseed)
- Planning and Development (Laura Moore)
- Salary and Benefits (David Turnipseed)
- Technology Utilization (Donna Retzlaff-Roberts)

•

Caucus Reports

- Allied Health (Mike Spector) No report
- Arts and Sciences (Laura Moore) Meetings have been held with Dean throughout the year. Faculty concerns have been followed up on and regular communications have been shared with Faculty.
- Continuing Education (Stephen Bru) No report
- Computer and Information Sciences (David Feinstein) No report
- Education (Gayle Davidson-Shivers) Faculty Excellence in Teaching a\Awards April 27, 2012 & 35th Annual Honors and Awards Reception will be May 4, 2012
- Engineering (Francis Donovan) No report
- Library (Vera Finley) Library had a very successful National Library Week
- Mitchell College of Business (Ellen Madden) No report
- Medicine (Ludymila Rachek) COM is difficult group to work with but progress is being made and there are 3 new Senators for the 2012-13 Senate
- Nursing (Leigh Minchew) CON has over 5000 students in class and online. CCNE
 Accreditation was successful. Grant funding was received to support teaching and
 learning. There are open faculty positions. The Excellence in Teaching Award will be
 given at Spring Convocation on the Friday preceding Commencement. The VP for
 Health Sciences is offering grant funding incentives for collaborative teaching and
 learning projects in Health Sciences.

2012-2013 Caucus Leaders

- Allied Heath (Susan Gordon Hickey)
- Arts and Sciences (Genevieve Dardeau, Jenny Faille)
- School of Computing (Jeff Landry)
- SCESP (Jeremy Daughtry)
- Education (Gayle Davidson-Shivers)
- Engineering (Kevin West)
- Library (Vicki Tate)
- Medicine (Judy Burnham)
- Mitchell College of Business (Ken Hunsader)
- College of Nursing (Ellen Buckner)