University of South Alabama

JagWorks@USA

Minutes 2007-2008

Faculty Senate Minutes

4-1-2007

Faculty Senate Meeting Minutes - April 25, 2007

Faculty Senators University of South Alabama

Follow this and additional works at: https://jagworks.southalabama.edu/minutes_twothousand_seven

Recommended Citation

Senators, Faculty, "Faculty Senate Meeting Minutes – April 25, 2007" (2007). *Minutes 2007-2008*. 2. https://jagworks.southalabama.edu/minutes_twothousand_seven/2

This Article is brought to you for free and open access by the Faculty Senate Minutes at JagWorks@USA. It has been accepted for inclusion in Minutes 2007-2008 by an authorized administrator of JagWorks@USA. For more information, please contact jherrmann@southalabama.edu.

UNIVERSITY OF SOUTH ALABAMA FACULTY SENATE EMERGENCY MEETING 2007-2008

April 25, 2007 University Library, Rm. 110 4:00 P.M.

Approved

MINUTES

1. Call to Order: (quorum present) 3:05 P.M.

Present: Aliabadi, Amare, Aucoin, Baggett, Britt, Brown, Carnahan, Dardeau, Doran, Engin, Haas, Johnsten, Joseph, Khan, Lauderdale, Li, Loomis, Major, Morris, Pérez-Pineda, Porter, Prendergast, Prescott, Robinson, Rowell, Sachs, Shamburger, Simpson, Tate, Vrettos, Williams, Woodford, Wright (Tootie.)

Absent (Excused): Allison, Bru, Burnham, Carter, Falkos, Green, Heins, Kinniburgh, McNair, Pettyjohn, Phelan, Prokhorov, Rego, Rivers, Santoli, Teplick.

Absent (Unexcused): Crumb, Douglass, Fresne, Hamilton, Hubbard, Irion, Sherman, Wright (Tony.)

2. Welcome from the Chair.

Chair Tate welcomed new Senators and briefly went over the following items:
a) Attendance is something that will be monitored this year with three unexcused absences being grounds for removal from the Senate, as outlined in the Faculty Senate Constitution.
b) Outgoing chairs of committees should give their work to Chair Tate.
c) Records of the last five years of the Senate are kept in Library while records older than five years are sent to the University Archives.
d) Chair Tate requested to briefly meet with all new officers and chairs, immediately after the adjournment.

3. Election of Officers and Committee Chairs.

Elliott Lauderdale moved to open elections and there was a brief discussion of the slate of unopposed candidates with vacancy for Chair-Elect. A nomination for John Sachs (COE) as Chair-Elect came from the floor by a senator from COE.

Since Sachs was willing to serve as Chair-Elect, and there were no other nominations for Chair-Elect, a motion was made to close the nominations for this office. The vote by a show of hands was unanimous to add Dr. Sachs to the slate of candidates; with no oppositions or abstentions. Motion was carried. With Sachs' nomination for Chair-Elect, this left a vacancy for the Chair of Planning and Development. Zari Aliabadi (AHP) was nominated to fill the vacancy, but she declined the nomination. There was a question from the floor about the charge of the Planning and Development Committee. J. Sachs, a former member of the committee explained their activities from the previous year. Chair Tate read the description from the Faculty Senate Constitution. I. Brown (A&S) moved that the Executive Committee fill the position of the chair for Planning and Development from the new committee assignments, but rescinded the motion when there was a request for another nomination from the floor. M. Joseph (MCOB) nominated Barry Simpson (MCOB) for the position, but he declined the nomination. I. Brown again moved that the Executive Committee be responsible for filling the position, K. Britt (A&S) second the motion, and the motion was carried unanimously. With no further discussion, there was a motion from the floor to accept the unopposed slate of candidates. By a show of hands, the vote was unanimous, with no oppositions or abstentions.

The following Senators were elected as the 2007-2008 Faculty Senate Officers:

John Sachs, Chair-Elect Kristy Britt, Secretary Steve Morris, Chair, Academic Development and Mentoring Eric Loomis, Chair, Academic Policy and Faculty Handbook Susan Santoli, Chair, Academic Policy and Faculty Handbook Susan Santoli, Chair, Environmental Quality Tom Johnsten, Chair, Evaluation OPEN, Chair, Planning and Development Jean Irion, Chair, Salary and Fringe Benefits Jie Li, Chair, Technology Utilization

With no further issues under discussion, there was a motion to adjourn.

4. Adjournment: 4:23 P.M.

Submitted by Vicki Tate